top of page

The Darker the Night, the Brighter the Stars (22')

     I. Grief

     II. Anger

     III. Acceptance

Flute, Clarinet in Bb, Violin, Cello, Piano

Premiered: July 2013 by Seattle musicians; Good Shephard Center, Seattle, WA

"The Darker the Night, the Brighter the Stars" is about the process of grieving that we as humans go through after loss.  There is a journey that the soul takes in order to come to terms with the reality of the situation, and this work is a portrayal of that journey.  There are three movements, Grief, Anger, and Acceptance, that are played without break, but are distinguishable from one another in mood, harmony and orchestration.  Themes and techniques within the piece are used throughout all three movements to serve as a reminder that emotions are not exclusive, but, instead, combine together to make up how we feel.  The many highs and lows of the piece ultimately lead to bittersweet acceptance, for life goes on, and light can be found in even the darkest of places.



Subsequent Performances:

April 2015 by Hartt Students; Room 410, Hartford, CT (Grief, Anger)

bottom of page